Nigerian Federal Universities Will Soon Start Having 24hrs Electricity Img_0584-png

A memorandum of understanding signed between eight Federal Universities and the Rural Electrification Agency, means that these schools are about to get uninterrupted power supply.

The supply will come from off grid active plants and the Universities to benefit are;

  • Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University in Bauchi, 

  • Bayero University in Kano, 

  • Usman Danfodiyo University in Sokoto, 

  • Federal University of Agriculture in Makurdi, 

  • Nnamdi Azikwe University in Awka, 

  • University of Lagos in Akoka, 

  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources in Effurun 

  • Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile Ife. The Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital in Ile Ife was also included in the MoU.

The MOU is part of the first phase of the Federal Government's first phase of the Energising Education Program (EEP). 

Nigerian Federal Universities Will Soon Start Having 24hrs Electricity Img_0585-jpg

When will it be completed?
2018. Seven of the nine planned power plants will be solar-powered. That's about 10.5MW out of a total of 26.56MW. This is line with FG's energy-mix policy.

The goal of the REA is to provide uninterrupted electricity to 37 Universities and 7 teaching hospitals in Nigeria, through the off-grid captive power plants in a bid to resolve power problems. And of course, boost overall productivity. At least there'll be one less thing to worry about..

The Head of Special Projects for the REA, Mrs Anita Otubu, said: 

"The Federal Government is keen on ensuring that its universities are at par with their international counterparts and recognises access to power as an essential commodity to achieve this.”

The Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission, Prof Abubakar Rasheed, also had stuff to say:

“We must on behalf of NUC express our gratitude to REA, the Acting President and the Honorable Minister of Power, Works and Housing for this initiative.”